As a small business, it’s almost a necessity to be present and active on one or multiple social media platforms. With over 1 billion users on Instagram, and 500 million active daily users, it’s easy to see why there are over 25 million business accounts on this Facebook owned platform! But with so many users, and so many business accounts, why are there are only 1 million advertiser accounts? It’s not because of a lower ROI, that’s for sure! Instagram Ad revenue hit 7 Billion (yes billion) in 2018!
Let’s dive into a beginners guide to advertising on Instagram, and learn how it can improve your brand awareness, profile reach and impressions, and increase your conversion rate and ROI. From promoting a well performing post to creating Instagram stories and Instagram feed ads in Facebook Ads Manager, the ability to add paid traffic to your Instagram profile is easier than ever.
Let’s start with a few of the common Instagram ads you’ve probably seen already:
Promoted Instagram Post
What is a promoted Instagram post?
A promoted Instagram post is a regular post on your Instagram feed you can promote to increase reach and impressions via a targeted audience selected by you. You can adjust the budget and length of time the ad will run all within the Instagram app. Promoted Instagram posts appear in both Instagram feeds and Instagram stories without any additional effort.
Some examples of a promoted Instagram post are:
Notice the word SPONSORED under the profile name. This designates an ad.
What Instagram posts should I promote?
As every business is different, there is no one right post to promote. Some examples of posts you can and should promote on Instagram are:
- Posts performing better than others on your feed.
- Posts promoting sales or limited time offers
- Posts promoting new business news and announcements (think new locations, new staff, management change over, new hours, etc.)
- Posts promoting new product arrivals
- Posts promoting products coming soon
- Posts promoting events
- Posts promoting giveaways
How do I promote a post on Instagram?
Promoting a post on Instagram is easy. Follow these simple steps to promote your selected post:
Step 1: Select the Post you Want to Promote
From your business page, select the post you want to promote and press ‘promote’. Remember to check for spelling errors and evergreen copy, as you will be unable to make changes or edits once the promotion has started.
Step 2: Choose the Destination of Your Ad
Choose the destination you want users to be transported to:
- Your Profile
- Great for brand awareness, giveaway posts, biz announcements etc.
- Your Website
- Great for shop now, sales, conversion oriented goals and lead generation. This will direct users to your website within the Instagram App.
- Your Direct Messages
- Great for questions, asking for feedback, to reserve an item or event invitation,
- Etc.
Step 3: Choose your Target Audience
The next step is to select your target audience. You can select an automatic target, which will automatically target other accounts similar to your following, or create (and save for later use) a brand new audience to target. You can choose demographics like gender, age, geolocation, and interests. (PRO TIP: If you own a brick and mortar store, try targeting users within a 1-2 mile radius of your shoppe!)
Step 4: Choose Your Budget
Instagram has made it easy to select your budget with the use of slider bars. You can slide you daily amount spent ranging from $1.00 - $1,000.00 daily and the duration ranging from 1 day to 30 days. As choose your budget and duration, Instagram’s algorithm easily calculates the range of estimated reach for your specific posts. For instance, if we choose to spend $5.00 daily over the course of 6 days ($30.00 total ad spend) our estimated daily reach is 950-2,500 accounts.
Step 5: Approve the Ad
The final step in created a promoted post is approve the ad. You’ll be able to preview the ad, review your targeting selections along with your budget, and submit it for approval through Instagram. An important thing to remember is you will no longer be able to edit the post once the ad is live as well as after the promotion has ended.
Creating Instagram Ads in Facebook Ads Manager
There are multiple type of ads you can create in Facebook Ads Manager, but we’re going to focus on two: Instagram Stories Ads and Instagram Feed Ads.
STORIES ADS
What is an Instagram Story?
Instagram Stories are photos or 15 sec videos that have a expiration date of 24 hours. They’re great for expanding on recent posts, providing personality to the brand, or even showcasing new products user’s can swipe to shop. (Business Accounts must have at least 10,000 followers to access ‘swipe up’ capability.) Learn more about them on our blog!
Why should I promote Stories on Instagram?
We learned earlier Instagram daily users topped 500 million in 2018. Of those 500 million, 400 million of them are active on Instagram Stories every day. With Instagram Ad revenue expectations around 10 Billion in 2019, and 60% of users admitting they have found and purchased new products on Instagram, it’s almost a missed opportunity if you don’t take advantage of the platform!
Instagram Stories can be used for promoting sales, new products, and showcasing the personality behind the brand! Using an app like canva or InShot for Stories templates will allow you to turn photos into videos, add your logo, and create a complete, branded experience. What’s more, you’re not limited to follower minimum to be able to swipe up!
(Pro Tip: add a URL tracking code to your swipe up link to track your users site behavior.)
Instagram Feeds Ads
What is an Instagram Feed Ad?
An Instagram Feed Ad is a 60 second video, photo, or carousel of images that appears in a Users feed, just as normal posts in their feed would. It differs from a promoted post as the Ad Post does not appear on your Instagram feed. The ad also allows you to add a Call to Action to direct users link to a product page, category page or other landing page, or even an event registration page on Facebook!
What should I use an Instagram Ad for?
Instagram feed Ads are great for advertising collections of products, promoting sales and new arrivals, and so much more. Use the 60 second video option to feature a new arrival or provide an inside look of business operations. Use the single image feature to tease a new collection, announce events, create a lead generation opportunity, or announce a giveaway! The carousel option (one of our favs) is perfect for sharing collections of products like sale items or holiday specific items. Share a collection of holiday gifts under $50.00 or summer vacation travel necessity items! With so many options, the possibilities are endless.
Examples of Instagram Feeds Ads
Video
Single Image
Carousel
How to create an Instagram Ad in Facebook Ads Manager
Once you have decided on the design for your ad, you’ll want to access your business Facebook Ads Manager Account and start by creating a new ad.
Step 1: Choose Your Objective
Choose your campaign objective, and name your campaign. Remember NOT to select Engagement for Page Likes or Post Likes, or catalog sales or store visits as these objectives are facebook specific. For the sake of this example, we chose Traffic under Consideration.
Step 2: Choose where you want your traffic referred to.
Step 3: Choose your audience.
You can can choose a new audience, a saved audience, or even utilize your pixel to use lookalike audiences! You can include detailed targeting just like facebook ads, and you can even add a connection type! (Pro Tip: Although you may have similar audience sizes on both Facebook and Instagram, remember the demographic differs from platform to platform. Learn more about the demographics on each platform on our blog.)
Step 4: Edit the Placements of your ad.
Choose Edit Placements in the Placements section and unselect all options except Instagram Stories or Instagram Feeds (or select both for maximum engagement).
Step 5: Set your budget and duration of the ad
You can set your budget by daily or lifetime spending and set a bid cap to maximize your budget and audience. As you adjust your spending and duration, you’ll be able to see daily estimated audience sizes based on your configurations.
Step 6: Design your ad
It’s time to design your ad! You’ll be able to choose the format, insert your design, enter links (with tracking codes attached) and a Call to Action for your ad.
Step 7: Preview and approve
Preview and approve your ad! Remember ads run on Instagram must still adhere to Facebok Advertising policies. Additionally, images with too much text tend to be disapproved often, as it does not create a user experience. Get the most out of your ad dollars by using lifestyle images and eye catching graphics. Using design apps or story templates ensure a branded look and professional appearance.
No matter the Instagram Business Ad you’re creating, remember to be creative, original, and to have fun with it! If you find you’re having trouble creating an ad, or aren’t sure where to begin, our Social Media Team is here to help! From social media management consulting for e-commerce, to full on social media services, Volusion has you covered. Message us today to learn more!
from Volusion Ecommerce Blog | SMB Marketing, Design & Strategy https://ift.tt/2QGjc86
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